Deploying Joomla on Windows Azure Web Sites

Today we have released the preview of Windows Azure Web Sites to –

Quickly and easily deploy sites to a highly scalable cloud environment that allows you to start small and scale as traffic grows.

Use the languages and open source apps of your choice then deploy with FTP, Git and TFS. Easily integrate Windows Azure services like SQL Database, Caching, CDN and Storage.

Using Web Sites it is very easy to deploy many different OSS based platforms such as Drupal, Joomla!, DNN or WordPress

This simple post will show the steps required to get a Joomla site up and running and with Web Sites this is a wizard driven process that takes around 10 minutes end-to-end. how easy is that?!

To start the process, in the new, HTML5 based, management portal you click the ‘NEW’ button on the bottom left

image

In the menu that opens you select ‘WEB SITES’ and ‘FROM GALLERY’ to use one of the pre-canned solutions

image

You could, of course, create your own instance and do anything you’d like on it.

In my case, from the gallery that opens, I select the Joomla! 2.5 item and click the next button

image

and I’m then asked to provide the details for the deployment. these will, naturally, differ from platform to platform, but they usually follow the same line – url, username, password Smile as well as location for the deployment and database details.

For Joomla! I can select from MySQL (provided through ClearDB or Windows Azure SQL Database), I chose the former, just because-

image

Next, as I opted for MySQL Database, I’m asked for the details around that

image

and I’m good to go!

I hit the button and I can see my web site is being created, and then deployed

image

a couple of minutes later, my web site is running –

image

and I can see the detailed view –

image

..as well as browse to it –

image 

and, after signing in, editing it –

image

About Yossi Dahan
I work as a cloud solutions architect in the Azure team at Microsoft UK. I spend my days working with customers helping be successful in the cloud with Microsoft Azure.

10 Responses to Deploying Joomla on Windows Azure Web Sites

  1. JoomTeach says:

    Thank Yossi Dahan. You share your technical expertise with us. It’s very useful idea for me.JoomTech

  2. Oskar says:

    Hi, I’m new in Windows Azure’s users and I have problem with Joomla on Azure. After deploying of joomla I can’t upload and install any extension. In system I fixed Datebase and in warnings it says that the problem are bad chmods to tmp folder. So I tried to change chmods to 666 or 777 in filezilla but there was an error: command not understood. So how can I use joomla after deploying without chance to install any extension? My question is how to fix it?

    • Oskar says:

      Ok, I fixed the problem. It was problem with wrong path to logs and tmp folder in configuration.php file😦

      • Max says:

        Hi Oskar,
        have the same issue and tried to fix the path with no luck. What has been your correct path?
        Thank you
        Max

  3. nick says:

    Thanks for such useful and interesting information , it’s help me a lot .

  4. Yiannis says:

    This is very good article but i do have the same problem and I am not able to come to a solution. The logs and tmp folders are not writeable and there is nothing I can do to fix this. Can you please help me? I used filezilla to change the permissions with no luck. I even add another folder and declare it in the Joomla interface with no luck either. I also cannot start the FTP functionality.

  5. Pablo says:

    My friend, how did you fixed the problem with the configuration.php file? I cannot make thos directories writables

  6. phebruary says:

    If I want a new mySql DB I can not click I agree to Clear DB user agreement and create web site (I have selected Northern Eur, will try US as above). If I select use existing SQL database I do not get prompted to agree to Clear DB agreement and can create web site. I do however get following error when click site URL: Database connection error (2): JLIB_DATABASE_ERROR_CONNECT_SQLSRV

    Please advice, I’m a bit annoyd that I get set up issues with both DotNetNuke and Joomla through the Gallery set up when it is suppse to be easy and “no tech skille required” lol.

    BTW I use Mac + Firefox or Chrome, can this cause issues?

  7. Pete S says:

    I’ve given up trying to solve this problem, apparently you can set the log and temp to an absolute path in the config file, to C:\DWASFiles\Sites\{websitename}\VirtualDirectory0\site\wwwroot\tmp & same for log. Also you could load the package locally into /tmp and use the load extension from directory approach, again that failed for me. So I’m afraid Joomla on windows azure is not going to happen…

Leave a Reply

